Bike Experience

The lake, its beaches and blueberries

Fun that stretches for kilometers on end!

The Véloroute des Bleuets circuit encircles Lac Saint-Jean for 256 kilometers, crosses 15 municipalities and the Montagnais com- munity of Mashteuiatsh. The Parc national de la Pointe-Taillon and picturesque municipalities located along the country roads can be reached from this loop. It connects many points of interest, overlooking Lac Saint-Jean’s tributary rivers, besides a connection to Saguenay through an associate network. The circuit offers multiple occasions for dining, camping, hotel and bed & breakfast stays.

Lac Saint-Jean is so immense that the opposite banks are only visible when the skies are exceptionally clear. With a surface area of over 1000 sq km and besides being the largest inhabited lake in the province, it’s classified among the 10 largest lakes in Québec. Lac Saint-Jean offers a multitude of monumental landscapes due to the banks that stretch along 210 km. A genuine seaside resort, Lac Saint-Jean invites you to swim in its warm waters and relax in the sun on the luxurious sandy beaches.

A word from the media ambassador

yvanmartineau

Yvan Martineau
Television announcer and host, TVA Radio announcer, Cogeco 98.5 FM And proud Ambassador of the Véloroute des Bleuets

Hello everyone!

I am one of the Véloroute des Bleuets’s biggest fans, which has certainly helped in why I was appointed the National Ambassador. There’s been so many different broadcasts, columns, reports and hosted conferences that I’ve lost count!

I’ve travelled to many different regions and I can contest to the genuine uniqueness of the diverse landscapes, the raw beauty found in the wild, the pleasure of travelling between the villages and cities, the magnificent vistas overlooking Lac Saint-Jean, the cascading rivers, the cycling-boat combo with Le Maligneau, and the list goes on.

This uniqueness is also derived from the Ambassadors’ presence, the volunteers that interweave within the network, infusing a human touch and providing replies to our questions. Their pride and passion shine through every interaction. A perfect example of the perfect model to follow!

My joy increases with the knowledge that I’m not alone in my opinions. No matter where my travels lead, I always hear someone say how much they love the Véloroute des Bleuets. This itinerary’s reputation is renowned across Lac Saint-Jean.

I like that the circuit is completely paved (except in Parc national de la Pointe-Taillon, where moose are prominently present early in the morning) besides being accessible to other users; Sometimes I enjoy cruising along the cycling trail, other times along the designated roadway and paved shoulders… Variety is the key! Scientists confirm that “90 to 95% of what human beings perceive is through sight.” In Lac Saint-Jean, on two wheels, the view is demanding: diversity propagates curiosity from all angles.

I also appreciate the rest areas with picnic tables that allow for breathing in the fresh air, relaxing and slowing down the pace.

The Véloroute des Bleuets is an adventure that’s not to be missed!

More information

The circuit offers multiple occasions for dining, camping, hotel and bed & breakfast stays. For more information about the Véloroute des Bleuets, visit their website.

Learn more

Most of the maps can be accessed via Garmin Connect


See maps
PDF

Plan

your experience


Download guide Order a printed copy

Expérience Vélo

Le lac, ses plages et ses bleuets

Des kilomètres de plaisir !

La Véloroute des Bleuets, un circuit en boucle qui ceinture le lac Saint-Jean sur 256 kilomètres, traverse 15 municipalités ainsi que la communauté montagnaise de Mashteuiatsh. Il donne accès au parc national de la Pointe-Taillon et à des municipalités pittoresques situées sur les routes périphériques. Il relie de nombreux sites touristiques, surplombe les rivières tributaires du lac Saint-Jean, en plus de faire un lien au Saguenay par un réseau associé. Le circuit offre des occasions multiples pour la restauration, le camping, l’hôtellerie et le gîte du passant.

Le lac Saint-Jean est si immense que ses rives opposées ne sont visibles que par temps exceptionnellement clair. Sa superficie de plus de 1 000 km2 le classe parmi les 10 plus grands lacs du Québec, et fait également de lui le plus grand lac habité de la province. Grâce à ses 210 km de rives, le lac Saint-Jean o re une multitude de paysages exceptionnels. Véritable station balnéaire, le lac Saint-Jean vous invite à profiter de ses eaux chaudes, de l’étendue et de la qualité de ses plages sablonneuses.

Mot de l’ambassadeur médiatique

yvanmartineau

Yvan Martineau
Animateur et chroniqueur télé, TVA Chroniqueur radio, Cogeco 98,5 FM et fier ambassadeur de la Véloroute des Bleuets

Bonjour!

Je suis l’un des plus grands admirateurs de la Véloroute des Bleuets et c’est peut-être la raison pour laquelle j’ai été nommé ambassadeur médiatique. Je ne compte plus les émissions, chroniques, reportages et conférences où j’en ai parlé!

Pour avoir beaucoup voyagé, je considère qu’elle est vraiment unique de par la diversité des paysages, la beauté de la nature sauvage, le plaisir que nous éprouvons à traverser les villes et villages, les points de vue sur le lac Saint-Jean, les rivières à surplomber, le combo vélo-bateau avec Le Maligneau, et j’en passe.

Son unicité vient également de la présence de ses Ambassadeurs, ces bénévoles qui sillonnent le réseau, qui lui donnent un côté humain et nous rassurent si nous avons des interrogations. Ils sont fiers et passionnés. C’est définitivement un modèle à suivre!

Ce qui ajoute à mon bonheur, c’est de constater que je ne suis pas le seul à penser ainsi. Partout où je vais, il y a toujours des gens pour me dire qu’ils sont tombés en amour avec la Véloroute des Bleuets. C’est fou, la réputation de cet itinéraire autour du lac Saint-Jean.

J’aime le fait que le circuit soit asphalté à 100 % (sauf au parc national de la Pointe-Taillon où les orignaux sont nombreux tôt le matin) et qu’il soit accessible aux autres usagers; j’aime me retrouver tantôt sur piste cyclable, tantôt sur chaussée désignée ou accotement… Vive la variété! Les scientifiques affirment que « la vue effectue 90 à 95 % de toutes les perceptions sensorielles chez l’être humain ». Au lac Saint-Jean, sur deux roues, la vue est grandement sollicitée : la diversité pique la curiosité de tous bords, tous côtés.

J’apprécie aussi toutes haltes avec ses tables de pique-nique qui nous permettent de prendre le temps de respirer, savourer et ralentir. Vraiment, vive la Véloroute des Bleuets!

Plus d'information

Le circuit offre des occasions multiples pour la restauration, le camping, l’hôtellerie et le gîte du passant. Pour plus d’information sur la Véloroute des Bleuets, consultez leur site Internet.

En savoir plus

La plupart des cartes sont aussi accessibles avec Garmin Connect


Voir les cartes
PDF

Planifier

votre prochaine expérience


Consultez en ligne Commandez une copie