Bike Experience

The fjord, its capes and tides

The Véloroute du Fjord du Saguenay is a 435-kilometer long cycling circuit that skirts along the Saguenay River.

Meandering along the fjord’s twin banks, the course will introduce you to breathtaking landscapes. You’ll also travel along the Route du Fjord marked tourist route. Voyage from shore to shore with the Fjord Marine Shuttle. Cycling fun for everyone!

Discover the Véloroute du Fjord du Saguenay

The Kingdom of Saguenay invites you to discover sections south of Lac Saint-Jean to the Estuary of the St. Lawrence, criss-crossing the Saguenay Fjord along both shores. The Vélo-route du Fjord du Saguenay stretches between ham- lets and villages, crosses through the City of Saguenay’s urban areas, besides the phenomenally pictures- que rural sectors that connect the Véloroute des Bleuets with the mountainous landscapes of the Saguenay Fjord and the Laurentian mountain range.

The Saguenay triathlete, Pierre Lavoie, who revealed the fjord circuit’s incredible potential for athletes in search of a truly unique experience. Loved and revered across Québec, thousands of youth and adults who adopt his examples and advocate health through physical activity, Pierre Lavoie still travels this circuit as part of his training. It’s his personal playground! He de- voted himself to the recognition of this exceptional cycling destination, managing to have paved shoulders landscaped along most of the trail.

“This circuit makes it possible to admire the 14 surrounding villages that are spectacular and ripe with authenticity, besides an exclusive glimpse of the boreal forest at its best. It then presents a challenging elevation gain for cyclists who love mountains similar to those in Europe. The tour around the fjord compares to the ascent of Mont Blanc! It’s without a doubt, throughout Québec, the course that most closely resembles Euro- pean preferences in terms of both difficulty and length. In addition, it also connects the neighbouring regions” stated Pierre Lavoie to the sum of his convictions.

saguenay

The Véloroute du Fjord du Saguenay also allows for a choice of desired sections by using the maritime shuttle, servicing the communities of Tadoussac to La Baie and transcending visitors to the core of this dazzling natural wonder, the Saguenay Fjord. The sections connecting the fjord and the lake have portions that are accessible to everyone: recreational cyclists (family), touring cyclists and performance cyclists. Your perfect adventure is waiting to be explored!

Route du Fjord http://tourisme.saguenay.ca/fr/circuits-et-tours/route-du-fjord/la-route-a-decouvrir

More information

Meandering along the fjord’s twin banks, the course will introduce you to breathtaking landscapes. For more information about the Véloroute du Fjord du Saguenay, visit their website.

Learn moreTourisme Saguenay

Most of the maps can be accessed via Garmin Connect


See maps
PDF

Plan

your experience


Download guide Order a printed copy

Expérience Vélo

Le fjord, ses caps et ses marées

La Véloroute du Fjord du Saguenay est un circuit cyclable de 435 kilomètres qui longe la rivière Saguenay.

Sillonnant les deux rives de son fjord, le parcours vous fera voir des paysages à couper le souffle. Vous emprunterez la route touristique signalisée, la Route du Fjord. Vous pourrez aussi voyager d’une rive à l’autre grâce à la Navette maritime du Fjord. Du vélo pour tous!

Découvrez le circuit du Fjord

Le Royaume du Saguenay vous convie à la découverte des sections qui vous conduiront du sud du lac Saint-Jean jusqu’à l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent, en suivant l’axe du fjord du Saguenay sur ses deux rives. La Véloroute du Fjord du Saguenay s’étire de hameaux en villages, en traversant les concentrations urbaines de la ville de Saguenay, ainsi que les secteurs ruraux magnifiquement pittoresques reliant la Véloroute des Bleuets aux paysages montagneux du fjord du Saguenay et de la chaîne des Laurentides.

C’est le triathlète saguenéen Pierre Lavoie qui nous a révélé l’incroyable potentiel du circuit du fjord pour les sportifs en quête d’une expérience véritablement unique. Aimé et adulé par le Québec entier, jeunes et adultes qui adoptent par milliers son exemple préconisant la santé par l’activité physique, Pierre Lavoie continue de parcourir ce circuit dans le cadre de son entraînement. C’est son terrain de jeu! Il s’est consacré à sa reconnaissance en tant que destination vélo exceptionnelle, réussissant à faire aménager des accotements asphaltés sur presque toute la distance.

« Ce circuit permet d’abord d’admirer les 14 superbes villages chargés d’authenticité qui ceinturent le fjord, en plus de baigner en pleine nature boréale. Il présente ensuite un dénivelé relevé pour des cyclistes qui aiment la montagne, comme en Europe. Le tour du fjord correspond à l’ascension du Mont-Blanc! Il s’agit définitivement, dans tout le Québec, du parcours le plus proche des goûts des Européens tant au niveau difficulté qu’en terme de longueur. Et plus encore si on le relie aux régions voisines », affirme Pierre Lavoie avec toute la conviction dont il est capable.

saguenay

La Véloroute du Fjord du Saguenay permet également de choisir les sections que l’on souhaite réaliser en utilisant les services de la navette maritime qui dessert les communautés de Tadoussac à La Baie et plonge les visiteurs au cœur de cette merveille naturelle éblouissante qu’est le fjord. Les sections qui font le lien entre le fjord et le lac comptent des portions accessibles à tous : cyclistes récréatifs (famille), cyclotouristes et cyclosportifs. Impossible de ne pas y trouver son compte!

La Route du Fjord http://tourisme.saguenay.ca/fr/circuits-et-tours/route-du-fjord/la-route-a-decouvrir

Plus d'information

Sillonnant les deux rives de son fjord, le parcours vous fera voir des paysages à couper le souffle. Pour plus d’information sur la Véloroute du Fjord du Saguenay, consultez leur site Internet.

En savoir plusTourisme saguenay

La plupart des cartes sont aussi accessibles avec Garmin Connect


Voir les cartes
PDF

Planifier

votre prochaine expérience


Consultez en ligne Commandez une copie